Tags

, , ,

I suffered chronic migraines for many years, and I know all too well the effect they have on day to day life. But now, at twenty five, I have been migraine free for almost six months. 

I had my first crippling migraine at six. I remember waking up screaming in pain, being carried downstairs by my step father, and taking tylenol. It was horrible. 

They became a chronic issue at around fourteen. I would get several a week, sometimes lasting a few days. I started missing school and was put on medication at sixteen. It did basically nothing and I ended up being taken off of it at eighteen. 

By twenty four they were unbearable. I had five or six a week, and they would cripple me for several hours, unable to bear light or sound. Luckily I could get rid of them by sleeping in most cases, but I know people who get no respite from pain no matter what they do. 

I started researching uncommon ways to get rid of them. I was willing to do anything to gain some measure of relief. Having fibromyalgia and these awful migraines destroyed any chance I had at a productive life. I read a bunch of tips, like taking a hot bath to draw the blood to your feet. Or accupuncture, yoga, meditation etc. 

I can’t imagine doing yoga with a migraine. 

By chance I stumbled across a piercing forum talking about a type of piercing I had never heard of. (I’ve had many piercings over the years and am no stranger to them) It was called a daith piercing, and there was some hype that it could stop or reduce migraines in certain people. 

Not everyone can get a daith piercing, you need to have enough of a cartilage fold on your inner ear. But luckily I have a lot of cartilage and every fold is pronounced. 

It took me months to convince myself that it was worth it to try. It’s based on the same principle as migraine accupuncture. There’s a cluster of nerves that when punctured can help with migraine pain. I eventually found a piercer that had the training to do one and went on to see him. I won’t just go to any place to get a piercing, after a bad one when my cartilage was broken and was incredibly painful and almost impossible to heal. 

The piercer I went to had the second highest rating on google in my city. I know that’s not the best way to judge a place, but I was desperate. After arriving and meeting him, he immediately warned me that it may not work. He had received mixed feedback within the piercing community and didn’t want me coming back and blaming him for it being unsuccessful. 

I signed a waiver in the end. He did his best to make me comfortable, putting me at ease and answering all of my questions in a calm and professional manner. It hurt. I expected it would. But the pain was worth it. Two days later I had a minor migraine and was devastated. That was the last I have heard from a near constant pain companion in almost six months. 

I now get completely manageable headaches. They go away with an advil and are a hundred times less painful. Every week that goes by I am more and more thrilled by how lucky I was. It gave me almost no trouble healing, I had excess scar tissue build up for a few months, but that is purely cosmetic and just means I was playing with it too much. 

I urge anyone who has suffered for a long time to do some research on the daith piercing. Seventy dollars was totally worth it in my opinion. It may not work, but when you’ve tried everything under the sun to stop the pain, it’s worth it to take a shot in the dark. Sometimes it’s the unconventional method that gets you the results. Find a knowledgeable piercer, and if they don’t ask you to sign a waiver, or tell you it may not work, find another piercer. 

I ended up calling my piercer back and thanking him. He was very happy with my feedback and told me that every success story boosts his opinion on doing the piercing. He saved me from years of agony and misery. 

